The Office of Academic Affairs

Phone:

Email:

Degrees and Certifications:

......................................

 

Nick Discenza (Ext. 6253)

Director, Academic Affairs

ndiscenza@bereaschools.org

Phone:

Email:

Degrees and Certifications:

......................................

 

Sarah Bandza (Ext. 6251)

Academic Affairs Coordinator, Grades 9 - 12

sbandza@bereaschools.org

 

Phone:

Email:

Degrees and Certifications:

......................................

 

Steve Blatnica (Ext. 6218)

Academic Affairs Coordinator, Grades 5-8
Camp Mi-Bro-Be Director

sblatnica@bereaschools.org

Phone:

Email:

Degrees and Certifications:

......................................


Katie Rolland 

Academic Affairs Coordinator, Grades K-4

krolland@bereaschools.org

Phone:

Email:

Degrees and Certifications:

......................................

 

Mike Pellegrino (Ext. 6262)

Coordinator of School-Wide Title I Programs

mpellegrino@bereaschools.org

Phone:

Email:

Degrees and Certifications:

......................................

 

Jean Hribar (Ext. 6263)

Instructional Coach

jehribar@bereaschools.org

Phone:

Email:

Degrees and Certifications:

......................................


Jenifer Csiszar
(Ext. 6261)

Instructional Coach

jcsiszar@bereaschools.org

Phone:

Email:

Degrees and Certifications:

......................................

 

Elizabeth Dryfuse (Ext. 3391)

Instructional Coach

edryfuse@bereaschools.org

Phone:

Email:

Degrees and Certifications:

......................................

 

Joy Meany (Ext. 3333)

Instructional Coach

jmeany@bereaschools.org

Phone:

Email:

Degrees and Certifications:

............................................

 

Lori Rodriguez

Instructional Coach

lrodriguez@bereaschools.org

Phone:

Email:

Degrees and Certifications:

......................................

 

Bridget Knight (Ext. 6255)

Administrative Assistant

bknight@bereaschools.org

Phone:

Email:

Degrees and Certifications:

......................................

 

Megan Kinney (Ext. 6258)

ESC Gifted Coordinator Consultant

bcsdgifted@bereaschools.org

 

  •  


    The curriculum of the Berea City School District is developed on a 6-year cycle based upon national, state, and professional organization standards. The curriculum writing process is a multi-year process which involves large teams of teachers representing all grade levels and areas of the district. These teams work for a period of two years, evaluating the current curriculum, and writing new courses of study and instructional guides. The materials selected to support the courses of study are thoroughly reviewed by staff members as well as parent and community members. The course of study and materials are presented to the Board of Education for adoption prior to being utilized in the school district. Great care is taken to align our student learning outcomes to state model curricula and the academic content standards. Following the adoption of the course of study and materials, an extensive staff training component is implemented so that all of our staff members are fully trained in the new courses of study, materials and assessment tools. As the new courses of study are being implemented, we have on-going K-12 articulation teams that meet periodically during each academic year to review the curriculum, make slight modifications and adjustments and ensure articulation among grade levels.